Work up an appetite for latkes and sufganiyot with a Chanukah-themed yoga sequence!

Night 1: Anjaneyasana

Anjaneyasana (or low lunge pose) symbolizes the Jewish desire for freedom under the tyrannical rule of Antiochus III, the King of Syria.

Night 2: Parighasana

Parighasana (or gate pose) symbolizes how Judaism became forbidden under the King’s rule.

Night 3: Garudasana

Garudasana (or eagle pose) symbolizes the leadership of Mattathias and his five sons, the Maccabees, who stood up against the King’s tyranny.

Night 4: Utkatasana

Utkatasana (or chair pose) symbolizes the bravery of the Maccabees and their ragtag Jewish army as they prepared to wage war against the King’s army.

Night 5: Virabhadrasana II

Virabhadrasana II (or warrior II pose) symbolizes the Maccabees’ strength and determination in the battle to retake Jerusalem.

Night 6: Ardha Chandrasana

Ardha Chandrasana (or half moon pose) symbolizes the moon lighting the sky on the Maccabees’ return to Jerusalem, and the need for light to be found in the Temple.

Night 7: Camatkarasana

Camatkarasana (or wild thing pose) symbolizes the miracle of the small jar of oil that lasted for 8 days.

Night 8: Utthita Tadasana

Utthita Tadasana (or star pose) symbolizes the peaceful outcome of Chanukah, the five point star of the Star of David and the nighttime sky where we light the menorah.

You made it to the end! Happy Chanukah!